You’ve Got (Less) Mail!

I don’t know about you, but I hate junk mail, both in my mailbox and my email inbox.  Dealing with paper junk mail is pretty easy.  I’ve filled out some of those online things that claim to cut down on the amount you receive and that helped a little bit, but what really helped the most is not letting it come in the house.  Our mailbox is not attached to our house, so when I come home each day, I pull up to the mailbox, grab the mail and bring it with me into the garage.  From there, everything that’s junk goes immediately into the recycling bin and only the important things come into the house.  Done!  No more mail piling up on the kitchen counter only to be thrown away days or weeks later.

But what about email?  At one point not long ago, I would check my email in the morning to see 20 or more new messages, almost all of them junk.  I knew I could unsubscribe to the mailing lists, but that takes so much time and sometimes it doesn’t stick.  So, I just kept deleting and deleting as they came in.  Working harder, not smarter.

Well, not anymore!  Just like with my paper junk mail, the best way to tackle digital junk mail is to keep it from coming into your inbox in the first place!  Enter…..Unroll.Me!

Unroll.Me

What does it do?  It lets me decide with just a few clicks which emails I still want to see and which I don’t.  And I can change those settings at any time as my preferences change.

To get started, visit the website and enter your email.  From there, it will show you what subscriptions you already have.  At this point, you have 3 options:

  1. Keep the messages in your inbox
  2. Add to your rollup (more on this in a bit)
  3. Unsubscribe

Option 1 and option 3 are pretty easy to figure out, but here’s the deal with the rollup.  If there are messages you think you might still want to access but not see individually every single time they come in, add them to the rollup.  Now you will get ONE email per day from Unroll.Me with your daily rollup.  It will basically be a collection of those emails you might like to see but don’t want clogging up your inbox. The rollup is a nice option if you aren’t sure if you’re ready to fully unsubscribe yet.  I actually found that I was rolling up a lot of messages when I started that I have now unsubscribed to because I found I didn’t miss them!  Again, any time you want to change your preferences, simply go back to Unroll.Me’s website (or click the link in your daily rollup message) and change them!  How’s that for working smarter?

I now have Unroll.Me set up on all of my email accounts and it’s saving me loads of time.  If you find yourself buried under piles of digital email clutter, check it out!

1 thought on “You’ve Got (Less) Mail!

  1. Pingback: Schedule Your Email With Boomerang! | Andrea Halverson

Leave a comment